Drinking and Driving is a Problem in Texas


In Texas, three people are hurt or killed in an accident involving alcohol every hour. A higher percentage of Texas citizens are injured in alcohol related motor vehicle collisions than the national average.  Over 1,000 people are killed each year in Texas by a drunk driver.  Additional legislation has been passed in Texas in an attempt to reduce drinking and driving. In 2015, Texas passed a law requiring drunk driving offenders to install an ignition interlock on their vehicles in order to have their driving privileges restored following an arrest.

The severity of punishment for drunk driving increases with each additional offense.

  1. First Offense: Up to $2,000 fine, 3 to 180 days in jail, loss of driver’s license up to a year and annual fee of $1,000 or $2,000 for three years to retain driver’s license.
  2. Second Offense: Up to $4,000 fine, on month to a year in jail, loss of driver’s license up to two years and annual fee of $1,000, $1,500 or $2,000 for three years to retain driver’s license.
  3. Third Offense: $10,000 fine, two to ten years in prison, loss of driver’s license up to two years and annual fee of $1,000, $1,500 or $2,000 for three years to retain driver’s license.

If you have been injured as a result of a drunk driver, contact O'Hara Law Firm.


Recent Posts